Office Water Cooler: Voicing your opinion and accepting others [Response to 180 Degrees]

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “180 Degrees.”

I’ve done a total 180 in social situations where I get painfully irritated.

During most social situations, I try to carry a conversation because it is the polite thing to do. I never really knew why I had to keep a conversation because frankly I didn’t care.

If it was a conversation about relationships, I stared blankly and ask why do you complicate a relationship with so many details? Is it not simple to just love a person in time? Would you not prefer someone who challenges you rather than be passive about your habits? For a response, I would normally get a blank stare and a questioning about how much I know about relationships. I respond honestly with ” Mine is working great, I love the guy.”

Imagine  having a conversation about the Boko Haram Case with people who don’t even know that NIgeria wasn’t a city of the country called Africa.

Imagine trying to keep up with a conversation about shoes… I don’t. I leave the room.

I don’t think I’m socially awkward but I’ve been called more than a few times. I honestly disagree… I think I’m just being honest about my opinions.

I stopped placing myself in situations where I have to justify talking about human rights over shoes. I just stray away from people who choose to neglect the news or something remotely more important than their closet.

My 180, is stop pretending like I care and not waste my time.

Leave a Reply

